Passed 70-297

bwcartybwcarty Member Posts: 422 ■■■□□□□□□□
I squeaked by with a 727 on my first attempt, which isn't bad since I didn't spend a lot of time studying. I just did 70-294 a few weeks ago, and I took a week or so off before jumping in for 297.

I started studying with Transcender, and that's what I used for the majority of my prep time. About 1/3 of the questions were similar to topics from 294, so I didn't need to refresh my memory on those. Another 1/3 or so dealt with DNS and DHCP, which I deal with regularly at work, so I spent a few hours reviewing all the little things that I don't regularly have to worry about with those services. After that, the remaining questions dealt with migrating/restructuring older domains to fit a 2003 forest design. I used CBT Nuggets and read through the Syngress book for those.

As far as the live exam goes, I had 6 testlets and 48 questions total. Testlets ranged from 5 to 12 questions, and the time allowed for each testlet worked out to about 3 minutes/question. The questions were fairly easy (generally), but the time pressures due to the testlet format did get to me early on.

Next up: 70-293 to finish the MCSE
Help eradicate blood cancers with a donation to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Ugh, how did you get all out of order like that? 293 is not a fun one to end one icon_eek.gificon_lol.gif

Oh well, congrats on the pass!
  • hannoshannos Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
    congrats!
    I have mine tomorrow morning (exactly 24 hours from now!) and I'm really not prepared for it.

Last one for MCSE 2003 too. I suspect I waited too long between this exam and 70-294, which I did somewhere around January. Motivation to study just isn't there!
  • NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076
    Congrats! icon_thumright.gif
    WIP: CCENT/CCNA (.....probably)
  • sys228sys228 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Contrats on the pass! icon_thumright.gif