Options

Need help w/ my first lab and interface questions. Thx!

beef1218beef1218 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, everyone!

I am a total newbie here. I have read a lot of threads here, but still have a lot of questions on setting my lab. Please point out any mistake I made here and give me some advice, I really appreciate your help.
I just decided to start my networking study 1 week ago. I have gone through the CBT Nugget once and booked the CCENT test on Jul 6.

Now I am planning to build my first basic lab.
Since my budget is tight, I only plan to get 2 routers and 1 switch now, and maybe add another router and a switch later.
For the switch, 2950 is recommended by most people here.
For routers, I am planning to get a 2650XM or 2620XM (120M/32M) and a 2501 so that I can play with the 12.4 IOS on one router and save money on the other.

I have questions about the interfaces.
Let me take the 2620XM for an example, it has 1NM, 2WIC, and 1 FE ports. The FE port must connect to my switch/computer, so I will have to buy a WIC card for WAN connection, right? Now I am using COMCAST cable fast internet and a cable modem, what kind of WIC card should I get? Will a Fast Ethernet WIC card work? If I get a router with 2 FE ports, can one of them connect to my cable modem or they are both for LAN only?

Then I will need to connect this 2620XM to my 2501 router, so I will need a WIC-1T card for 2620XM (since it does not have a serial port) and use (DB60) serial back-to-back crossfire cable.

So my total list will be:
1 2620XM/2650XM
1 2501
1 Ethernet transceiver (for 2501)
1 WIC-1T card (for 2620XM)
1 WIC-fast Ethernet card (not sure about this)
1 DB60 back-back crossfire cable
1 2950

Future list:
1 more 2950
1 more 2501 (to make Frame Relay)

Please correct any mistake I made here. Thank you so much for your help!
Andy

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    beef1218 wrote: »