Most important entry level skills

smizzerfsmizzerf Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have about a year of PT help desk experience, passed the 70-270 Microsoft exam, and a few months of contract field technician work(mostly warranty PC repairs) No degree yet, but working on it. I'm planning on moving to a larger metropolitan area, most likely the Dallas area, in 3-8 months time.

What skills will be the most helpful in my job hunt? I have some C++ experience from high school, access to a wide variety of computers to learn new skills with, and some techie friends to teach me.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Do you want to do programming, networking, systems administration, etc.? There's really not much in common between C++ and 70-270.
  • msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
    IMO the most important skills regardless of being entry level or a seasoned veteran are the soft skills. Being able to communicate effectively, participate with others in a team effectively, relationship building, conflict resolution, etc... all of the intrapersonal and interpersonal skills. I've worked around a wide range of people during my career and spent a good number of years in a management role. While working the role of manager I was the sole party responsible for hiring at the branch which I managed (this is a local computer store with internal service facilities as well as a place that offered IT solutions for businesses). Typically, for the majority of my applicants I was far more concerned about the soft skills than I was with the technical skills they could bring with them. That's not to say that I ignored the technical skills, they are also very important. But I would rather have an employee that might need a bit of work on the technical side that exhibited excellent soft skills over the employee that was a technical genius (as related to the position I had to fill) but had poor soft skills.