Options

Doing the MCP 70-270, what next?

MinionMinion Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

I'm new here, stumbled up this site when Googling. I've found it great so far and have some questions. I've started with 70-270, exam on 6th July in New Zealand, the primary OS in my works desktop environment. Next I'm looking at 70-271 and 271 (posted a question here).

From you experiences what would you recommend next in the MS certification range?
I've looked at and reviewed (briefly) MCTS and MCITP, what do they involve? Checking around here and on MS Learning website I found a lot listed for MCTS:
http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcts.aspx#tab2
Do I have to do all of those exams to certify, or just one?

Same with the MCITP, I've seen on this site that I can upgrade 70-270 and 271 (when I take them) via 70-621. Is that just one exam?
Free 70-621 Upgrading your MCDST Certification to MCITP Enterprise Support exam resources

About me, I work as a Service Desk Manager, I've got over 3 years in IT and 5 years in management (retail) and a UK based BTEC National Diploma for IT Practitioners.
With my career I started off as a junior and now the manager, I now want to get more technically skilled, up skill and provide more to my current career.
The IT environment is primarily Windows 2003 AD with one 2008 server, 36 2003 Servers, 150 XP Pro SP3 desktops and about 5 Vista Business SP1 desktops.
We use Linux Debian for open source and have over 300 desktops using Debian to connect to our AS400 systems. Network infrastructure is a mix of Cisco and Nortel with Telephony mainly Nortel with VOIP used sparingly. We are looking at server consolidation, disaster recovery, storage and virtualisation.

I've recently done some short courses in Leadership, Project Management and Business / Information System Strategy, though really want to get more technical.

So my question is, from you experiences what would you recommend next in the MS certification range?

Thanks