A+ questions

pls4550pls4550 Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello to everyone. I am a Licensed Land Surveyor in my state. I have decided to move into the computer field due to the lack of work. I have been dealing with computers for years. I really don't know the detailed stuff that seems to be required for the A+ exams but I think I have a good head start. My questions about this exam is that I really don't know where to start, what is truly needed as far as knowledge, and the best material to use. I know that any field has things in it that while interesting truly aren't needed to do work. I went to QuickCert and felt like I was getting a good deal. After doing some research I have found that many people have issues with this company. I believe in knowing your stuff but I need to do it in a productive way. I want to learn the stuff but I don't want to waste time on very detailed material if it isn't needed for the exam. I am so overwhelmed by what to read, what to study, and who to trust. I started out feeling really good about doing the switch to the IT field and now after I have done all this research I am wondering how to tackle such a huge field. I am not looking for cheats into passing the exam. I want a practicle approach to doing this. I really want to make the most of my time.

Thanks to all!

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    pls, I was a career changer as well and studying for A+ was a major component to my learning plan. What I would suggest is that you get a good video course and a good print resource like Sybex or something from Mike Meyers. Go through these and volunteer at an organization in your area that is similar to this: Donate or recycle your old computer in Cincinnati, Ohio