Interested in CISSP

billybob01billybob01 Member Posts: 504
I have been reading about CISSP and it covers subjects that really interest me and i would love to study for this cert but not sure if i cover the prereqs? I have been a Systems Administrator now for 3 years.

Comments

• unsupportedunsupported Member Posts: 192
    billybob01 wrote: »
    I have been reading about CISSP and it covers subjects that really interest me and i would love to study for this cert but not sure if i cover the prereqs? I have been a Systems Administrator now for 3 years.

The requirements for experience are 5 years of full time direct experience with two of the 10 domains in the CISSP ((ISC)² Security Transcends Technology). Your experience does not have to be all in the two domains, but a combined 5 years ((ISC)² Security Transcends Technology). If you are able to map all your experience to 5 years you may be able to pass their audits. You can also knock off a year from the experience if you have a qualifying certification, like SSCP or SEC+ ((ISC)² Security Transcends Technology), or a degree. Please contact ICS2 for a definitive answer in your specific situation.

If you do not meet the required experience and are able to pass the certification test, you will be awarded an Associate of ISC2 ((ISC)² Security Transcends Technology) until such time you are able to demonstrate the required experience.

If you do not all ready have a security certification, I would recommend that you look into getting a lower level certification so you are not overwhelmed with the sheer amount of topics and detail required to pass the CISSP. Because with the CISSP it is not about knowing the material, you have to understand concepts and the the relationships between the material.

Good luck if you decide to continue down this path.
    -un

“We build our computer (systems) the way we build our cities: over time, without a plan, on top of ruins” - Ellen Ullman