Managing time

Crucio666Crucio666 Member Posts: 91 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

I'm trying to manage my time better so i can focus on my exams but i'm having a real hard time sorting out my priorities and i'm wondering if anyone else has faced this problem and what they did to overcome it.

I work 5 days a week, my hours are from 8am-6pm including afterhours/weekend support as needed. I have about a 80 minute commute to work each day. I wake up at 6am for work and i'm home at 8pm. I average about 55hours per week.

When i get home from work i'd like to devote a hour or two for studying/reading but by the time it hits 10pm my brain is so exhausted that i end up just going in my bed and falling asleep.

I'm a sys/network admin that primarily deals with all the issues in a 40 user environment. Throughout the day i'm 100% troubleshooting/maintaining/building all aspects of IT. 0% downtime other than a half hour for lunch.

Are there any other admins out there that are just way too exhausted when they get home to study or am i just lazy?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I totally understand where you are coming from. I work full time (and a lot of after hours work), come home at 530 and cook dinner, spend some time with the kids, get them in bed by 830, spend some time with the wife and then finally I get my study time in around 930 - until I'm too tired to concentrate. It gets hard and some days I just can't get enough time to fit study in. Especially when I have work to do in the evenings. At least my work and study are in line with each other though, so its not that much of a waste of study time when I have to work :D