Need some help please

whiteboinycwhiteboinyc Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I am very new to all of this so be easy on me :D

I just recently graduated from SUNY Albany with a degree in Information Science and a minor in Criminal Justice. I want to pursue a career in IT and hopefully something to do with security and computer investigations as from research I have done this is where the field is heading.

I am entry level right now without a job and I was wondering what I should start with certification wise. I have been looking and found that A+ certification is pretty standard and needed. My first question is do I need to take this before I take for instance CCENT or CCNA for cisco. And what are some good companies to take classes with/study from for the certifications.

Thank you very much for your help in advance.

Comments

• PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Welcome!

First, since you are coming fresh out of school, what sort of advice did your career/guidence/degree advisor(s) recommend for you? They also should be able to assist with job placement too.

Second, not everyone 'needs' an A+ Cert, particularly when you know what aspect of IT you wish to support/work. It won't hurt you, but if you are already interested in Cisco certs, you could be successful by pursuing those, check the forum on this site for more information about these certs.
    *** if you are NOT familiar with hardware, then you may wish to go through this process just to better understand the areas covered ***

Lastly, a good percentage of people learn as they go. They download the objectives for a particular subject, purchase or borrow the books for that topic, discuss questions on the forum, read white papers and such to better prepare and understand the particular topic you will test on.

Train Signal - Computer Training Videos - Windows 2008, Cisco, Office 2007, VMware & more! has some fantastic material to with exam prep. You should look at their materials.
    Plantwiz