Lab Setup Question

jukejuke Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am just getting started with my CCNA and I found a great deal locally on the following:

1) Cisco 2620 Series Router 1x Fast Ethernet 10/100 Interface, 1 Ethernet + 1x T1 CSU/DSU Interface
2) Cisco 2620 Series Router 1x Fast Ethernet 10/100 Interface + 1x T1 CSU/DSU Interface + 4x Serial Interfaces
3) Cisco 2514 Series Access Router 2x Ethernet Interfaces (Ethernet transceivers included) + 2x Serial Interfaces
4) Cisco 1900 Series Switch 24 Port Vlan Capable / Enterprise IOS
5) Cisco 3500XL Series Switch 24 Port Vlan Capable.

I am in the process of configuring everything and have read a ton of articles about how to setup a lab, but I have not seen much on connecting the routers together using ethernet. The setup did not come with any serial cables and most of the advice that I see out there is based on a serial connection.

Shoud I connect all of the routers to the switches? Or can I chain them together with crossover cables. Which router should I use as the parent? I was thinking of using the 2620 with the 4 serials so that I can set it up for FR when I get some serial cables.

I eventually will get the serials if I really need them, but for now, help me get this all connected. I may be way off in my thinking, I am just getting started in the networking world. icon_cheers.gif

Thanks in advance

Josh

Comments

• captobviouscaptobvious Member Posts: 648
    When in doubt, you can always check the Cisco website for information. I searched T1 CSU/DSU and found the following Understanding the 1-Port T1 CSU/DSU WAN Interface Card (WIC-1DSU-T1). This would be where I would start.
  • tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    juke wrote: »
    4) Cisco 1900 Series Switch 24 Port Vlan Capable / Enterprise IOS
    This switch is useless for all Cisco certifications. It doesn't run IOS or even CatOS. It gives you an IOSish command line interface but it isn't the same.
    juke wrote: »