Best Practice SAN Design

I want to do storage redesign for small business; requirement will be presenting storage to 4 server.

1 Backup server
1 Database server
1 Exchange
1 File server
Any design advice on high availability will be appreciated.
Passed SNIA - SCSP
Working on VCP4

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm not an expert, but you're going to have to provide much more information to get accurate recommendations. How much data, many users, typical load, etc.
  • TechStrikerTechStriker Member Posts: 131
    Thanks for the point
    200 users, looking to buy 5 – 10 TB storage for capacity planning.
    Current in house data 2TB.

I found HP MSA 20 type of storage but wasn’t sure how you could connect 4 servers, with HA in mind.
    Passed SNIA - SCSP
    Working on VCP4
  • blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What do they have currently, more specifically? FC attached? iSCSI? Servers going through a SAN switch or directly connected?
    IT guy since 12/00

Recent: 11/2019 - RHCSA (RHEL 7); 2/2019 - Updated VCP to 6.5 (just a few days before VMware discontinued the re-cert policy...)
    Working on: RHCE/Ansible
    Future: Probably continued Red Hat Immersion, Possibly VCAP Design, or maybe a completely different path. Depends on job demands...
    They have MSA 1000 and connected SCSI I/O module to the SCSI Adepter in the server
    Passed SNIA - SCSP
    Working on VCP4
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Have two disk arrays, make sure replication is enabled between them. Two SAN switches, and connect everything through them. You need FC for that, your SCSI won't do.
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

Connect a tape library to the SAN switches, and I recommend NetBackup as a back software...

the size and brand of the Disk Arrays and library depends on your budget and requirements

• astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□