Hey citrix guys and girls

Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
I was looking on the citrix website and I noticed that A: the training of the CCA is free and B: XENSERVER is now a free download. I was thinking about signing up for the training and getting Xenserver to play with. I was possibly thinking that maybe (further down the road) to do a CCA ceritification on XenServer. I would like to know (after I do the certs in my sig) would be it a worth while investment? Are people still using Cirtix heavly? Can someone download Xenserver, Go the training, read some books and get CCA certified or is it something that best done by people who already work with Citrix. A little bit about me:

I am a 21 year old helpdesk agent and I am very edger to get off of the helpdesk.

I am studying networking (CCNA) Linux, (LPIC), wireless networking (CWNA) and Security (S+).

I use VMware on my laptop from time to time.

I probably don't know as much about virtualization as I should.

I have heard people talking about VCP but that is way to much for me.

Comments

• stupidboystupidboy Member Posts: 470
    TBA the XenServer exam is not that hard and it is useful to understand their Hypervisor inplementation. Realistically I don't see XenServer opening many doors in the employment market, even if technologically it is a better architecture.

I work for a Citrix Partner and we have very few XenServer installs even in shops that are Citrix and MS, they still often opt for VMware.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    stupidboy wrote: »
    TBA the XenServer exam is not that hard and it is useful to understand their Hypervisor inplementation. Realistically I don't see XenServer opening many doors in the employment market, even if technologically it is a better architecture.

I work for a Citrix Partner and we have very few XenServer installs even in shops that are Citrix and MS, they still often opt for VMware.