spanning treee

shelly117shelly117 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
hey all,
i am new in cisco for practical use.in my company they using mst as a spanning tree protocol.but now they wnat to mugrate from mst to pvst.how can i do it ?please give me few suitable solutions.we r using cisco 4500 series switch and 6500 series switch

Comments

• kryollakryolla Member Posts: 785
    With that type of switches I am guessing you have a lot of users so my advice is to ask an upper level support engineer for your company if you can HELP in the migration. Do you even have a basic understanding of spanning tree and what it is used to do?
    Studying for CCIE and drinking Home Brew
  • shelly117shelly117 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    kryolla wrote: »
    With that type of switches I am guessing you have a lot of users so my advice is to ask an upper level support engineer for your company if you can HELP in the migration. Do you even have a basic understanding of spanning tree and what it is used to do?

actually i know why using spannig tree but i dont have much more idea how .but i just need to know the basic thing to migrate mst to pvst.i read lots of aricle bur all r related to migrate pvst to mst.
    how many switches, vlans and what is your current topology for layer 2, any traffic engineering you want to do? Why are you going to PVST?
  • APAAPA Member Posts: 959
    [IGNORE - Let this be a lesson.... verify b4 posting]

Just thinkin out aloud here....

I haven't used 4500 series switches before.....but I do know they are considered legacy... do they even support pvst?

'spanning-tree mode ?'

I have a feeling they only support 802.1.d(IEEE STP) & 802.1s(MST)... this could be the underlying reason asto why MST was chosen in the first place.

Something to double-check....

Now I'm off to the gym...;)

CCNA | CCNA:Security | CCNP | CCIP
    JNCIA:JUNOS | JNCIA:EX | JNCIS:ENT | JNCIS:SEC
    JNCIS:SP | JNCIP:SP
  • creamy_stewcreamy_stew Member Posts: 406 ■■■□□□□□□□