Studying for Multiple Certs

ServerProvidesServerProvides Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody, I have a quick question on certs. How many certs would it be feasible to study for at one time? I currently have no certs but several years of experience in PC repair, basic networking, and security. I am a full time college student in Computer Science and I will be investing ~10-20hrs a week studying.

Do you think I'll be able to go after CCNA, MCITP, and Security+ at the same time? How long do each of these certifications take general in hours of study time? Any advice would be appreciated! I'm not looking to cram, I just want to have a broad knowledge base.
Currently Pursuing...

BS in Computer Science

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    I think you'll have your work cut out for you being a full time student and trying to study for multiple certs at once. Since your attention is already going to be split among your college courses, I'd recommend picking an order to doing your certs and apply focus to each one in turn. That will at least also give you a sense of progress.
  • dshay25dshay25 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    The answer to all of your questions is the following: It depends on the person doing the studying.

I don't mean this to be a rude response but seriously everyone is different. I personally study for 1 certification at a time (this is how I best retain knowledge of the subjects that I study). On the other hand, I'm sure there are plenty of people who study multiple subjects at once and are able consume knowledge more efficiently than I am.

Studying is also largely affected by experience. Someone with little/no experience of the subject that they are studying will usually take longer to study/understand material than someone with 5+ years hands on experience.

If you are not looking to cram then study at a comfortable pace at which you are able to retain the information.
    WIP:
    -A.S. in Networking and Communications