Finding Local Admins on 3000+ machines

coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
Heah All,

I have been asked to find a script or a way to find out all the members who are Local Admins on their machines. There are more than 3000 members in out organization. We also use a AD monitoring software by Quest software but it is just a monitoring and reporting and tool and not an auditing tool.

Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    I've just done exactly the same thing at work, I'm not very good at scripting but managed to come up with this logon script to detect who has local admins then distributed a script to remove it from the naughty users.

Remove Admin Rights Scripts Dales-Diary

Probably not the best way of doing it but it may give you something to work with.
    Kind Regards
    Dale Scriven

Twitter:dscriven
    Blog: vhorizon.co.uk
  • coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Dale,

thanks for your recommendation, it looks quite simple but I am having a hard time finding isadmin.exe. will let you know once I find it and am able to run the script.
    Hey Dale,

I was able to find isadmin and blat and ran the script but it only returns the output for current user, here is what it shows:

Current user is an administrator

I know I am missing a piece in there, I am trying to get it for all machines in a given domain.
  • rwwest7rwwest7 Member Posts: 300
    dales wrote: »
    I've just done exactly the same thing at work, I'm not very good at scripting but managed to come up with this logon script to detect who has local admins then distributed a script to remove it from the naughty users.

Remove Admin Rights Scripts Dales-Diary

Probably not the best way of doing it but it may give you something to work with.
    You can do the exact same thing with a GPO. Restricted Groups I believe is the setting.