Career suggestions?

helphelp911helphelp911 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, i am very happy to know this forum and i want to get some suggestions from experts.

Currently i am lost and i don't know how to go forward with my career.

I graduated from computer science two years ago. In the first year, i got a help desk/sys admin job. Payed at really low rate (10 CAD /hr). I worked there for half year then laid off. i spent almost a year to find job. Finally i got this job ( web developer ) in very smaller company ( only me and boss ). My current pay is low too (14 CAD /hr, 30K CAD /yr). Currently it is my six months in this company. Anyways, now i don't know what to do. My short term goal is to be a programmer (website) and do something related to database.

1. Is there any cert i can get for web programming, database?
2. If i keep going in web programming, should i learn Photoshop and front end design? i know nothing about web design and photoshop.
3. Should i stick with this company for longer or should i find a better job?
4. if i achieve my short term goal (web programmer), what should i aim for next?

Thanks for all help!!
Thanks

Comments

• nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Firstly welcome to the forums.

Your still in the early stages of your career, so i would recommend taking the experiance above all other things such as income etc. i would rather have a great experianced job, which gives you good exposure, with a low income than the other way round. So grab the experiance while you can and make the most of it all. Besides the greater income levels will increase when you begin moving up the ladder.

There's quite a few certs from different companies available. Here's a few to start you off but other developers will be able to provide better links. It will also depend on which area you go:

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/view-by-name.aspx

Oracle Certification Program: Oracle Technology and Applications Certification