CCNP without experience ?

walid97walid97 Member Posts: 79 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Last week I passed my CCNA with a 972.
I am now a CCNA, A+ and Network+ certified. I am going for Security+ for the next month then I was thinking of starting CCNP.

The problem is that I have no experience working with Cisco equipments, I mean I had some Computer Sience internhips (I am doing my MS in Computer Science now, and planing of a networking career) but none with Cisco equipments.

Can I start CCNP without any experience in the field and while studying do some networking internships with the help of CCNA on my resume?

I am still young (23), so your experience in that field will help a lot !
Thanks a lot !

Comments

• netheadnethead Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    There's no reason why you can't start working on CCNP with no field experience but if I were you I would recommend concentrating on trying to break into the IT job market if you haven't already.

I don't think having a CCNP over CCNA without any real world experience will help you to get a better starting job as most employers value experience over certs. Therefore it would be best to try and get a job and then work on CCNP in your spare time.

Also if working on the CCNP I would recommend getting together a lab if you haven't already, a couple of routers (with a variety of interfaces) and some switches.
    "The time for talking is over. Now call it extreme if you like, but I propose we hit it hard, and we hit it fast, with a major, and I mean major, leaflet campaign. "
    - Rimmer, Polymorph
  • Fu LoserFu Loser Member Posts: 123
    hmm. CCNP with no experience can get you a great job actually. My dad's best friend is a It headhunter. He was only only a few weeks ago. I asked him about how much they pay for guys with certs.

CCNA $15-$30hr
    CCNP $35-$60hr
    CCIE $80-$150hr

He looks for people with certs only. College counts as an extra.