Is this Exam worth my time?

Keith83Keith83 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
1) I'm a java software engineer and will be moving into the cyber security realm within the next year or two. I have a limited amount of *direct* security experience, although I've done work that parallels with infosec operations.

Under a certain DoD initiative - as well as an evolving list of job requirements - it's safe to say all work in the cyber / cyber security realm [of my particular industry] will be needing a security-related certification.

The Security+ does indeed qualify under this requirement, but I'm not convinced it's worth my time.

Should I bother hammering through the Security+ exam, or look towards CEH / SSCP or similiar, or the ESCP or a similar software-focused cert.

2) This exam doesn't look very difficult. How long would you give a fairly seasoned IT professional - with a fair degree of eligible time that can be dedicated to studying for this - to expect to study for this exam and pass it? I'm thinking ~2 months, but wouldn't want to go much longer for this one...

Comments

• shednikshednik Member Posts: 2,005
    I don't think it would be that tough...read over the objectives and see what you know from it. here's a good site with free info Security+ Essentials - Techotopia
  • Keith83Keith83 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    The concepts aren't very intimidating.

How are the questions themselves? Tricky? Wordy? etc.?
  • slideoffslideoff Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Its a very straight forward test like the other comptia tests. They don't try to bombard you with lots of useless information and in depth scenarios like M$ and Cisco.
    "Jeez louise, I can't wait to get my MCSE and quit this job." - Nick Burns
  • Keith83Keith83 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    So it's safe to say that a fairly intelligent individual can get through this one with maybe just the Syngress book and a couple of practice exams?
  • Dr ITDr IT Member Posts: 351 ■■■■□□□□□□