Options

Understanding how VLANs function

veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
Hello Everyone,

I am studying for Security+ certification. I hoping to knock it off next month :) I just finished my first book 500 pages, and have already begun going through my ExamCram book.

I learned about VLANs before but still feel like I am missing something. Now VLANS are used for Security and limiting Broadcast Domains correct? Does it do so by limiting the broadcast to only ports/users that are in the VLAN? Does it do so by tagging the packets? Am I completely off? icon_confused.gif:

Comments

• Options
    msbachmanmsbachman Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    It has something to do with vlan trunking protocol. Others would be able to help out in more detail, just thought I'd throw in my two cents.

Note: I reread through your question and I think I'm a bit off, but I'm posting this in case it could be of some use whatsoever.
  • Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hello Everyone,

I am studying for Security+ certification. I hoping to knock it off next month :) I just finished my first book 500 pages, and have already begun going through my ExamCram book.

I learned about VLANs before but still feel like I am missing something. Now VLANS are used for Security and limiting Broadcast Domains correct? Does it do so by limiting the broadcast to only ports/users that are in the VLAN? Does it do so by tagging the packets? Am I completely off? icon_confused.gif:

Think of a Vlan as a "Virtual-Lan". How do Broadcast work in normal circumstances? They go through out the network until they are stop by some sort of layer 3 device. With vlans it is essentially , broadcast go through out the "lan" and that lan, can consist of 1 port on a switch or 1 port on 10 seperate switches and the process is essentually the same. VTP does tag the packets I believe and injects the header of the packet with Vlan information.