Question on 802.1x

SysAdmin4066SysAdmin4066 Member Posts: 443
Hey guys, I'll be taking the BCMSN on Saturday August 22nd. I've been studying for it for almost 2 months now and I feel very strong in most areas.

I have one question that I wanted to run by everyone though. I understand the interface configuration of 802.1x turns authentication on for that particular port. I also understand the function of the 3 modes, Force-Authorized, Force-Unauthorized and Auto. What I dont understand is why you would ever use anything but Auto? Can anyone elaborate on this topic with some real world examples?
In Progress: CCIE R&S Written Scheduled July 17th (Tentative)

Next Up: CCIE R&S Lab

Comments

• jason_lundejason_lunde Member Posts: 567
    Its my understanding that once the command:

Switch(config)#dot1x system-auth-control

...and the appropriate aaa new-model and radius server(s) are defined, that all ports are placed into the "force-unauthorized" state by default. This basically turns the ports off, and is just a good default security measure. By going into port config mode and selecting auto you are allowing people to authenticate on a port (those that CAN authenticate properly through the radius server). And then then force-authorize is like an explicit permit for the switchport. We did this for users that were using one of the public access computers within the facility (because if you leave the switchport blank...without the
    "dot1x port-control auto" command it is going to deny access by default). Hopes this helps, and is accurate. Most of it is based on the theory I have from reading, and the past configs/advice from previous engineers. I should lab it up and see if the ports are indeed blocked after the dot1x system-auth-control command.
  • SysAdmin4066SysAdmin4066 Member Posts: 443
    From the BCMSN Official Exam Guide 4th Edition:

Step 4 Enable 802.1x on the switch:
    Switch(config)#dot1x system-auth-control