Am I studying "wrong?"

HackNackHackNack Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
First of all let's separate studying into two caregories: Microsoft studying and General studying.

Now, when studying for a Microsoft certification, I just read the book once and do the labs once. I recently tried taking notes after reading each chapter and #1 I figured that I hate taking notes, #2 I'm not very good at taking notes.

When studying for a non-Microsoft exam, I just read the book and highlight what I thikn is important. Sort of like taking notes but I damage the book and lower its resale value.

So far I've been passing my certs without any problems but I recently found that some people have been going the extra mile by taking notes, reading the books up to 3 times, etc. I can see re-reading the books. I've even done it a few times.

I guess this is a two part question.

#1. How do you study?
#2. Do you think I'm doing something wrong in the way I study?

Comments

• leefdaddyleefdaddy Member Posts: 405
    i usually just read the book, and do the excerises in the books and also review the end of chapter questions....

then i read like technotes from here and other stuff on the web while taking a lot of practice tests... then go take the real exam....

i deal with the stuff everyday at work so that experience helps in the learning process also.
    Dustin Leefers
  • /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    I can't imagine passing an exam if you don't read a book multiple times.
    I've given up highlighting, as it messes me up when I read back through.

I usually just read through each book a few times, take some practice exams and go back over my weak areas. The last thing I usually do is download the exam objectives and go over each one and make a note on each one. I'll use this up until I go in to take the exam.
  • eastpeastp Member Posts: 179
    This is possibly (almost for sure) not the best way to study but this is the way I follow