On approaching the CISSP after the Security+

Keith83Keith83 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, all. I'm a defense contractor working in part of the DoD where security certs matter as far as billable rates are concerned (i.e. they can directly impact my salary), although for my specific job as a java developer, they don't carry a much else beyond that. (I've checked with others, and my work history does meet the pre-reqs for the exam)

Over the past month, I recently passed the Security+ exam. Next, I'd like to tackle the CISSP.
I used the Syngress book and studied one chapter per week, so it took 4 months or so, and then crammed through a handful of exams and re-read the chapter outlines / key points before exam day.

From only a night or two of skimming the CISSP's 10 domains, it looks like there is some considerable overlap, and I thought that I should continue straight into the CISSP while I have momentum and Sec+ knowledge fresh in my mind.

Like I mentioned, I'm a software guy, so for the majority of technologies involved in these exams, I have nothing more than academic and "pedestrian IT professional" knowledge. (I do hold an MS in Comp Sci and had about 3 graduate-level networking classes and a OS security course, for what that's worth).

I'm interested in knowing how big the gap in material and knowledge is between the two exams, what kind of approaches I might want to take to study, how much time I should expect to study, what books are good, what practice exams are good, etc.

(I gave a brief background description so people could hopefully see what my goals are, my knowledge base, and my efficiency (or lack thereof, haha) of getting throught the CompTIA exam.)

Thanks!

Comments

• tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□