Options

Doing Linux+ after passing LPI-level.

m26k9m26k9 Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for LPI 101-level 2 and I am thinking of doing Linux+ too.
I did the sample questions from the CompTIA and could answer pretty easily.

What I want to know is, would I be able to do Linux+ with the knowledge of LPI-level 1?
I was thinking getting practice exams from Transcend but the for the exam and practice exam it's gonna cost about $400. And another $300 for the LPI.

So I was thinking whether I should bypass the Transcend.

Any ideas guys.

Cheers.

Comments

• Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Why would you need the Linux+ exam if you have the LPI 1 and 2? I enjoy studying for certifications to help me master a technology, but I can't see why you would wan to spend the money unless you were sure that having both the LPI certs and the Linux+ cert would help your career. Do you see a lot of Linux+ requests on the job sites for your area?
  • Options
    Hello Robert.

Thank you for the input.
    Actually I will not be (atleast I don't think I'd be) working in a job requires me exclusive Linux ability. I am majoring in broadband wireless (PHY layer) but I heard from many people that many front end devices they use are based on Linux. Although I probabaly will not need a certification handle those, I thought it can be an added qualification when out there looking for job

Why I want to do Linux+ is because I see (or I think) that it is a little more well-known than LPI. Also having an added certification cannot harm you right? I see the contents are similar and was wondering whether I should do that too.

Cheers.
  • Options
    disidisi Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I did the Linux+ more for fun last year, I talked to one of the girls at work and she said I should do one on the christmas party. Few weeks later I did it, then I thought about other certs.