Options

VTP mesages through a router

mobrmobr Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am studying for my CCNP and have not been able to find an answer to a VTP set up on a home lab.

I have 2 switches seperated by a router. I have switch A set VTP server and swicth B set as VTP client but cannot get VLANs to update to switch B.

I have tried setting the router to the same VTP domain, version, password etc and also tried it in transparent mode but still i cant get any joy.

Surely there must be a way?

Thanks,

Mo

Comments

• Options
    jason_lundejason_lunde Member Posts: 567
    Check your revision numbers.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Config the router interfaces to be in the same bridge group.Remove ip addresses etc and add the command "bridge-group 1" under each interface, this will allow traffic to be bridged transparently through the router.
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    Guys - thanks for the quick replies.

I think I may have mislead you a bit. What I should have said is that I have just passed my CCNA and have only started on the CCNP track so your patience would be very much appreciated.

To trunk from a switch to a router the only way I have been able to do this is by creating a sub interface on the router and encapsulating it as DOT1Q.

The router sub interface that connects to switch A has an IP address that switch A uses for its default gateway as part of its management address.

The router interface that connects to switch B has 3 sub interfaces ie router on a stick and again has IP addresses that hosts off swicth B use as their default gateway.

Do VTP messages only travel on layer 2 and if so is there not away of keeping my above config but allowing messages to traverse the router.

Cheers
  • Options
    jason_lundejason_lunde Member Posts: 567