Options

Windows XP Virtual Lab Question

So I have a MS Technet subscription and I have d/l'ed one Win XP Pro iso and via VMWare, I'm running two XP Pro hosts.

Not sure I am able to do this or if this is correct. I checked the VMWare forums and Google and didn't get an answer, of course I could be wording all of this incorrectly.

thanks
***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
-unknown

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm not sure what you're asking...

Do you want to know if you can create two VMs with that? AFAIK, you can install it as many times as you want as long as it's for evaluation or educational purposes; that's the entire point of a Technet Subscription.
  • Options
    JockVSJockJockVSJock Member Posts: 1,118
    I'm probably not clear with the question.

I have one XP pro .iso file. From VMWare, I am using the same .iso file to create multiple clients in that environment.

I wasn't sure if that was correct to do or not.

Let me know if this makes sense in what I am asking.

thanks
    ***Freedom of Speech, Just Watch What You Say*** Example, Beware of CompTIA Certs (Deleted From Google Cached)

"Its easier to deceive the masses then to convince the masses that they have been deceived."
    -unknown
  • Options
    Yea, that's fine. What VMware product are you using? Some allow you to clone a VM (or you could just copy/paste the VM files). After that, just run sysprep to generate a new SID, and you're set. That's much faster than having to install the OS every time you want a new VM.

I actually have a clean VM of every OS I use, and whenever I want to start something new, I just clone that and go from there.
  • Options
    Using VMWare 1.0.6 under Ubuntu 8.04.