Degree Question

FluxCapacitorFluxCapacitor Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm currently attending college at a private university and I'm majoring in Network Security. From what I understand, in order to get involved in a career in network security you must have years of experience in IT. I just got done attending 2 years of vocational/technical school in a computer networking class. I learned a lot about Microsoft operating systems and I worked with Cisco equipment while I was enrolled in the Cisco Networking Academy there. The only problem is...I don't have ANY work experience in IT. Anyways, is majoring in Network Security a good idea? I'm interested in a LOT of aspects of IT but security has kind of caught my eye more than anything else. Does it really matter if my degree is in Network Security or Computer Networking? They're very closely related so I could imagine that with a computer networking degree I could end up doing security or with a network security degree I could end up doing network administration.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'm sure you could get into either field with either degree. I'm actually migrating to the security side of things, and I'm wrapping up a degree in psychology.

Is there a reason you wouldn't want to get the degree that is more in-line with your interests?
  • FluxCapacitorFluxCapacitor Member Posts: 40 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I just wondered if it would really matter to employers which degree I got.
  • Hyper-MeHyper-Me Banned Posts: 2,059
    Not really. Degree programs vary so much that the only thing an employer can bet on when you have a BS is that youve passed some general ed stuff.

They cant guarantee nor guage exactly what technical classes you took and of what value, if any, they would be to your possible job with them.

They just want a degree and what its in is less important.