Best hardware for Virtualization?

inc0mpleteinc0mplete Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all!
I am studying for my Security+ and MCSE concurrently. I am also due for a new desktop (last one i made it having it's 9th birthday this october). I have been using my laptop for some virtualization environments to assist in learning server 2003, backtrack (for OSCP), etc. but I can't get a whole lot of guest machines on there.

What would be some good hardware to be able to implement a whole virtualized network? So I can practice for MCSE. I kind of want to be able to implement the whole #! (Shebang for those non programmers), AD, dns server, email server, web server, and a couple xp-vista clients, and most likely one "malicious" client (backtrack). So maybe 8-10 virtual machines.

I mainly use Ubuntu, so if some hardware can revolve around that (nvidia, intel, etc.) But just some good recommendations. Would I pretty much need to beef up on RAM?

I'm also a college student lol. So perhaps any setup under $1,000 would be preferable. $600-800 would be supreme.

Thank you very much in advanced.
Security+ -> Studying.
CCNA-> Studying - GNS3 and building up equipment slowly for CCNP.:lol:
MCSE 70-290 -> On Hold.

Exploit Bank: 0
InProgress: 1

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Just get a CPU that is 64-bit and supports NX and virtualization (pretty much any modern CPU). Plan out your memory requirements based on what you want to be doing. Things like Exchange and SQL Server will eat up a decent amount. I have 16GB in my box. While that might be overkill for you, 8-12GB probably wouldn't be out of the question. Another strategy is to get a lot of small, affordable 7200RPM disks. A single disk will be a huge bottleneck. I'd try to have no more than 2-3 VMs per disk.
  • inc0mpleteinc0mplete Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thank dynamik. Bonus points for you again
    Security+ -> Studying.
    MCSE 70-290 -> On Hold.