Juniper help

L0gicB0mb508L0gicB0mb508 Member Posts: 538
I am kind of interested to try out Juniper. I really have no access to Juniper equipment, so how would I be able to emulate a Juniper firewall? I know the Olive is for the routers, anything similar for the firewalls? I noticed on another post that they are pretty much giving the certs away. I'm not sure if I should go after the cert simply because I have no experience with it. Any insight would be great! Thanks guys.

Edit:
Do I have to do the routers first, or can you jump into the firewall first?
I bring nothing useful to the table...

Comments

• PashPash Member Posts: 1,600 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I am kind of interested to try out Juniper. I really have no access to Juniper equipment, so how would I be able to emulate a Juniper firewall? I know the Olive is for the routers, anything similar for the firewalls? I noticed on another post that they are pretty much giving the certs away. I'm not sure if I should go after the cert simply because I have no experience with it. Any insight would be great! Thanks guys.

Edit:
    Do I have to do the routers first, or can you jump into the firewall first?

Hey,

Thats just it, there really isnt many options for ScreenOS simulation, unfortunately. That said, you can pick up cheap Juniper netscreen 5XP's and 5GT's for between £50-£100. The 5XP's probably are a little too limited to practice with properly, but the 5GT's are fine.

The JNCIA-FWV is a good stepping stone, not too difficult but will test most basic security concepts.

Nope, JunOS is different to screenOS, even if the commands feel familuar. You will feel fairly confident using your Cisco IOS skills on a Netscreen or SSG firewall.
    DevOps Engineer and Security Champion. https://blog.pash.by - I am trying to find my writing style, so please bear with me.
  • L0gicB0mb508L0gicB0mb508 Member Posts: 538