Completely lost as to where to start. Help!

slim82xslim82x Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I graduated high school back in '07, tried college for a year, then dropped out. The economy tanked, and I've been working with what little jobs I've been fortunate enough to find. I regret dropping out of school, and am looking to get back in.

I'd like to get into the IT field in either Computer Software Engineering, or going for something like a Computer Information Systems Manager. As far as majors go, should I just shoot for a Computer Science degree, or Computer Information Systems, even though I'm not quite sure which of the two I'm more interested in?

Now, seeing as how jobs are just plain hard to find nowadays, how do you think I should get into the IT field? Or should I just find any decent....ish paying job (lol. aka, the best paying I can find, regardless of IT relevance), pay my way through college until my Associate's Degree, and start from there? I think the hardest part of this decision is that I'm completely on my own financially. Paying for my own car maintenance, car insurance, and will need to pay for college myself too (or for the loans.. supposedly my dad makes too much money for grants, though he doesn't see any of it due to child support and what not.. whatever.. and I screwed myself on financial aid through the schools from sucking it up my first year of college), so money is a HUGE issue here.

Anyways, sorry for the wall of text.. it's super early, when I tend to get insomnia from thinking too much about what I need to do to jump-start my future and start making something of my life.. and I tend to ramble, obviously. :D

If there's any other questions you need answered, I'd be happy to answer them ASAP (probably late tomorrow night as I'm stuck working all day at $8.25/hr icon_sad.gif But hey, at least I'm fortunate enough to have a job)

Thanks in advance for everything!
-Steve (Author of "Completely lost as to where to start. Help! - The Novel")