Advice request on getting into InfoSec Pen Testing..

NullifyNullify Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello I am new to posting on the forums here.

All of you here on Techexams.net have been a big inspiration for me to actually figure out the technical career I want to end up in, rather than floating from call center to call center. As the subject suggests I want to Pen Test.

I have 6 years (total) troubleshooting experience for two different ISPs providing technical support for customers (callcenter) from various tiers of support in a Windows environment.

My current plan is this:

1) CCENT (90% ready) in Nov. 2009 - to get me into NOC for the current ISP I work for and to obtain Network Surveillance experience. My concern with this is that it is little to no physical experience with networking equipment, everything is done remotely. I still have concerns this would not help my career goals. Does NOC experience carry alot of weight in InfoSec?

2) Security+ by the end of 2009 - to begin InfoSec

3) Finishing out CCNA before June 2010

4) I am not sure where to go after that certification wise.. C|EH or Linux+ or LPI - 1.. maybe all of them?? How much actual overlap is there between Linux+ and LPI -1?

5) SSCP? - for more of the technical side of InfoSec

6) My eventual goal is to obtain the OSCP

The idea is to use CCNA to get into networking, which is going quite well. Then InfoSec certs to transition to where I really want to be. Is this a bad idea?

I have been digging through job search websites and talking to people at my current job to find some way into IT/InfoSec. Due to budgets being tight and my lack of experience (I assume) not much is coming from that.
WIP:
ICND1 Prep 90%
ICND2 Prep 0%

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■

Security Certifications - TechExams.net IT Certification Forums

Your question has been most likely asked or answered on that area of the forums. :)