Passed with 842!! Now MCSA!!

mrmcmintmrmcmint Member Posts: 492 ■■■□□□□□□□
Really happy!

Just got back from testing centre, and I am still very shocked at how simple a lot of the questions were! I was expecting the level of detail to be much higher. I actually struggled more with the 290! Maybe I got lucky with the question pool - who knows.

As per previous posts really, content was mostly DNS and RRAS, with a few DHCP and WSUS thrown in too. My strongest area was RRAS surprisingly! The one area I have never used before in a live environment. Next strongest was name resolution, my weakest area was security at approx 50% - need to brush up on this clearly!

I studied for approx 3 months using CBT Nuggets, but also made excellent use of the 291 resources sticky that Royal posted. There were some very good explanations of DNS on there, in fact this alone cleared up most issues I had with DNS. I also had a demo of selftest software and preplogic. I also made sure I labbed up as much as i could and I am glad I did.

My plan now is to get the 2 windows 7 beta exams out of the way on oct 15th, then move straight onto 293.

As always - thanks to everyone on this site!

Comments

• dalesdales Member Posts: 225
    Congrats on the pass, Strangely I did rather well in RRAS too, even though I've never used it in anger (much like everyone else I suspect).

Anyway congratulations, well earned beer I thinks
    Kind Regards
    Dale Scriven

Twitter:dscriven
    Blog: vhorizon.co.uk
  • dancreaneydancreaney Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats dude, thats awesome. icon_cheers.gif
  • impelseimpelse Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats
    Stop RDP Brute Force Attack with our RDP Firewall : http://www.thehost1.com
    It is your personal IPS to stop the attack.

• mrmcmintmrmcmint Member Posts: 492 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys!

Yep - I think a beer or two is in order tonight! icon_cool.gif
  • tribe_menxtribe_menx Member Posts: 83 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Take a bow :)