How do I spin this?

Tin_ManTin_Man Member Posts: 77 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have a phone interview tomorrow with one of the major hospitals in the area. This has been setup through a recruiting agency. After speaking with them today, they stressed that one area of concern to be had is my lack of enterprise exp. I am a System Admin for a mid to large-size company, I only look after 5-9 servers, 1000+ users.

This new potential job is a Sr. System Admin position and I will be overseeing 100+ servers.

How do turn this lack of enterprise exp into a positive thing? Or can I? I know this is going to be a topic discussed tomorrow in the interview.
WIP: 70-647 (5%)

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Well, I don't think you are going to be able to put a positive spin on the fact that you don't have experience with the size of network they have. What you can do is show them what you have done with you current environment and stress the fact that you are ready for larger responsibilities. I think you can still come away with the job if you can show them you can handle it.

Good luck!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Well, I don't think you are going to be able to put a positive spin on the fact that you don't have experience with the size of network they have. What you can do is show them what you have done with you current environment and stress the fact that you are ready for larger responsibilities. I think you can still come away with the job if you can show them you can handle it.

Good luck!

Agreed.

Don't lie, but do highlight policies you developed, research skills you have, people skills you have (hopefully), and continuing training/education courses, etc.. that you pursue (if it is true that you do this sort of thing).