Options

Passed 70-649 today – Hard!

That was exhausting. I got a 700. Talk about escaping with the skin of my teeth!

My scores:
640 AD: 700
642 Net: 850
643 Apps: 880

First 19 questions were Apps, which is what I thought would be the hardest. Next 20 questions were Net, which I thought I’d do OK at, and did. Last was 9 questions for AD, it seemed like I had to get 7 right to pass, but I must have gotten 6 1/2 to end up with a 700. Yow.

I’ve read where several who’ve taken this exam in the past found it to be easy, even enjoyable, and said it was like a review of W2K3 with some new stuff. Mine was anything but! I usually mark about 8-10 questions on a 40 question test, and solve those at the end. Not this time. I had about 60% marked on all three sections.

I studied the MS Press kit, did all the labs, played around with W2K8 on the VMs I set up, and passed all the Measure Up and Transcender practice tests. I felt I had a pretty good handle on things, and expected to pass without getting a hernia. As soon as I got going though, I was seeing questions and possible answers which honestly, I’ve never seen before. Definitely not mentioned in anything I studied. I felt like I was going to tank before too long.

When I went back and reviewed Apps and Net, I finally saw through the fog on most of these questions and I think I got the right answers most of the time, which shows in the 880 & 850. The AD section was another story. I’ve passed a few AD exams over the years, and these questions were just way out there. I had 6 of the 9 marked, and when I was finally ready to call it a day, I didn’t think I had the needed 6 or 7 correct answers to pass. I actually put head down and just took a breath when I was done, and was rather stunned to see “Congratulations” when I looked up. I am still pretty amazed I passed this monster. I don’t think the test I took today is the same pool of questions MS was using 3 months ago.