I have a job interview on Thursday and I need some advice

qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have an interview for a Sysadmin position for a small software company on Thursday and I wanted to know what I could do to impress them besides getting a fresh haircut and going in with freshly ironed shirt and slacks.
I was thinking of putting together a little portfolio but have no idea what to put in it.

Here is a little info about myself. I currently work as a junior net admin for a bigger company and im responsible for all aspects of support, maintenance and vendor relationships. I have about 3 years of IT experience, I have a AS in CIS with an emphasis in IT and ill have my BS in Network Administration within the next year.

The position that im going for in a small company with about 15 users. They had the job ad posted on Craigslist and they got about 75 applicants. They cut that down to 30 and now to the top 8.

Comments

• bgrablinbgrablin Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Dress like your potential boss's boss. i.e. Where a nice suit. You won't be able to have it fitted by Thursday, so get one as close as possible. A person can decide if they are going to hire you in the first 30 seconds. So start off on top.
    "The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his."
    -General George S. Patton

My Site | Face
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    qwertyiop wrote: »
    I have an interview for a Sysadmin position for a small software company on Thursday and I wanted to know what I could do to impress them besides getting a fresh haircut and going in with freshly ironed shirt and slacks.
    I was thinking of putting together a little portfolio but have no idea what to put in it.