Options

Getting Started in Project Management

I was thinking of learning more and more about project management as a means of pushing my career further. Currently I'm a Sys Admin.

Anyone know a good way to get started in project management? books? classes? etc...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Divine-AssaultDivine-Assault Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    homerj742 wrote: »
    I was thinking of learning more and more about project management as a means of pushing my career further. Currently I'm a Sys Admin.

Anyone know a good way to get started in project management? books? classes? etc...

I suggest that you don't take any classes and just do self study with books. I personally just used the Sybex Project+ PK0-002. Although it is best to use more then one book, I just used that one and I thought it was enough.
    Currently Studying for: 70-291

Life is too precious to waste...

Check out my Blog! :D
    www.oreillybookreviews.blogspot.com
  • Options
    coffeekingcoffeeking Member Posts: 305 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I recently had to get into it. So I started with searching for sample project plans on google, you can find some really good ones on there that have all the time line, milestones and other necessary stuff for project management included in there. Creating a project plan is really not the big part but sticking to it is the key...when you create one you have to make sure that you can stick to the deadlines you have created for yourself. Often times you can cut your own foot by trying to be too efficient, you know what I mean.
  • Options
    eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    homerj742 wrote: »

The first thing I would propose is to sit down an document all of the project work that you might have already done in your career. Generally, if you want to have a career as a PM you should be able to show over time that the significance and impact of the projects that you managed increased.