Passed today with an 800 score

jsondjsond Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just got back from the testing center. I had taken the Security+ on December 2nd and went right into studying for the Linux exam. Also I work with Linux at my job and we do alot of command line tasks. If it was not for that I would have taken another month to study. My thoughts on this one:

More difficult to me than the Security+ exam to me. I studied for 4 months before I took the security+ and only missed 3 questions. I guess I felt between me working w/ Linux alot for the past 6 months, 2 months of studying would be enough. It was and I did feel confident at the end of the exam that I had passed but I was pretty sure I missed more questions than I thought I would.

1st off, as has been mentioned here before but bears repeating: there are a good amount of hardware questions about SCSI and some other things that made it feel more like the A+ exam. I only had one IRQ question which was pretty easy.

Seemed to me there were more "choose the best answer" then on the Security+ exam. There was at least 5-6 where I really felt there were 2 choices that were not incorrect but had to decide which was best.

Know command line stuff..probably 14-18 questions on that.

I was happy to see not too many X windowns questions. I was prepared but still was hoping not to get many.

Know your boot loaders, but mostly know about LILO..where it is installed by default, if dual booting, and some of the lilo.conf parameters.

Know what Linux names for various servers/protocols, etc. In other words know what BIND, Squid, Apache, etc all pertain to.

I only had one question about the VI editor. Suprising to me I see on my report that I missed a question pertaining to it so I obviously got it wrong. As hokey as VI can be to learn I use it a good bit at work and can't believe I missed the question I got. Just goes to show..even when you know, you never know.