Dog eat dog world

Jon KingJon King Member Posts: 9 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been working at a company for 5 years as a bench technician and manager it is a small mom and pop shop. I live in a small town where everyone knows everyone. We do a lot of work on the county computers and servers. I do just in house repairs we have another technician who does outside work
They service tech that does outside work recently had an addition in the family. So he decided he isn’t going to show up Tuesdays and Thursdays due to we also work on other small business and it has been slow. But today I get a call from our sheriff’s department saying they have a beeping that’s been going on for a few hours.
We had ordered a new UPS unit for them 2 years ago but the technician never swapped it out so it has been setting there for 2 year plugged in with nothing running off it.

He had one computer plugged in to the wall outlet.
My boss the owner arrived on site. He was upset as could be.
A few hours later my boss asked me how I feel about taking over the position
I really like this service tech he is a cool person but we have had issues with him even documenting things like IP addresses passwords and critical info for us.
My question is I know very little about networking where can I start to get my Networking + Cert.
Any ideas will be a big help sorry about all the grammar errors I am not too hot in spelling or grammar.
Thank you in advanced

Jon King

Comments

• PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Network+ would be a good start for you. You could then hit CCNA, if your interest is in networking, or the MCSA / MCITP tracks if you are interested in servers and admin.
    Mike myers puts out a good network+ book, you can read the forums and take tests. Do some hands-on and you should be good!
  • gathumbi2002gathumbi2002 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Jon,