I Feel So Stupid

etolsonetolson Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well, I took the Security+ Test and failed and have never felt so stupid in my life. I really felt like I would pass. I am new to the security field. After being out of college and working in for the State and now for a Law firm, I decided to go back to school. I thought I was brilliant when it came to computers --- since I knew how to create a web page and knew how all about Word, etc. I was in for the shock of my life when I took my first Security Course. I had no idea what VPN, Packet Filter, Routers, Switches, etc were. I did not even know what a firewall was....all that I ever knew on a computer was self taught.

I have taken two Security classes at the college (where I am majoring in Information Systems Security). Now, after failing the test, that my teacher said I would "ace", I feel so stupid.

Any suggestions, any ideas, any books, ANYTHING???!!!!!

Thanks

Elizabeth

Comments

• RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hello Elizabeth

Don't feel too bad - some of us have failed on this particular exam more than once. It does however appear that your tutor was somehow comparing the level of difficulty of Sec+ to A+ and Net, and that is a bad mistake.
    For study resources I suggest ..
    Tcats excellent pdf - the full one and not the free version.
    CBT Nuggets
    PrepLogic practice exam simulator

Most importantly, check out the study notes on this very site http://www.techexams.net/technotes.php
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    RussS recommended all the material I actually used for my exam, which I also failed the first time around.

Don't be so hard on yourself, this is a notoriously difficult exam, especially if you're somewhat new to certifications. You'll get it next time.
  • etolsonetolson Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Where can I get Tcats excellent pdf - the full one and not the free version.

Thanks