Freshly A+ Certified!

MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hi Folks! Just wanted to pass on that I passed the A+ Essentials and Practical Application exam today with scores of 835 and 805. I have 3 years experience in IT support roles so it wasn't too hard. I did pick up the new Sybex Complete Review Guide by Dulaney and it did a decent job. It didn't do a good job covering much of the Practical Application test, but did well enough coupled with my experience that I was able to pass it. If I didn't have the experience I would definitely recommend getting a more comprehensive study guide/book/practice test.

The Sybex book tried to cram in the DMA's, IO addresses, and IRQ's that really aren't used anymore and weren't anywhere on the new exams. (701/702)

Comments

• NetAdmin2436NetAdmin2436 Member Posts: 1,076
    Congrats on the pass and thanks for the review. What's next on the agenda?
    WIP: CCENT/CCNA (.....probably)
  • MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Well, that's what I'm not sure on what certification I want to do next. I do want to be a Sys Admin/Server Admin someday, so I'm debating on doing the MCITP in Server Admin (640/642/646) or if I should knock out the Network+ or another CompTIA test.

Or I was even debating on doing some of the MS desktop/help desk certs as well to go in conjunction with the A+ I have.

As far as my background, I have over 3 years experienced, but was laid off by a government contractor (was working at DHS) in April. I ended up being ruled out of some jobs because I didn't have the A+ so I finally decided to stop putting it off and busted my butt the past 2 weeks to study up and pass both. All I have to say, is that this job market is horrid. I finally took a entry level seasonal help desk (call center) position just so I could be working even though the pay is 40% less than I was making before. (I even have a Secret level clearance and can't find a thing)