Starting out so what do I need?

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum, and pretty new to the IT world in general and was looking for some advice.

I graduated from college with a BA in History, now kicking myself cause there are no teaching jobs anywhere available in SoCal.

I got really interested in computers when I was young, messing around with them and w/e else. By the time I graduated from college, I was building my own computers and could fix almost any windows problem software or hardware.

I went out and got my A+ certificate, and am trying to pump myself up for the Network+ exam. Aside from having the A+ which landed me a job as a Staples Easy Tech *Like a Bestbuy Geeksquad agent*. My ideal job right now would be a helpdesk situation like in a college or company where people bring their computers to me or they call in with problems.

My two questions are this. What type of job description would I be looking for, and what other certifications should I look for?

Thanks for all the advice.

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would suggest you sit down and come up with a career path plan. Decide what your dream job would be and plan for 1, 3, and 5 years. This should get you closer to your dream job.

Since you seem to have already created a short term plan of a help desk position, I would suggest you start with the MCITP: EST 7 (which also requires an HDI cert) and then go on to the MCITP: EDA. These should place you very well for a helpdesk/floor support role when added to you A+ and (soon to have) Net+
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum, and pretty new to the IT world in general and was looking for some advice.

I graduated from college with a BA in History, now kicking myself cause there are no teaching jobs anywhere available in SoCal.