Hardware

controlcontrol Member Posts: 309
Hi,

I have looked at the stickys regarding Hardware for a home lab during my CCNA study, and I see posts are years old. My question is, is the hardware still relevant for me sitting the exam next year, or what sort of equipment do I need to ensure I have the required hardware for passing the CCNA?

Thanks icon_smile.gif

Comments

• 7255carl7255carl Member Posts: 1,544 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi control,
    you will find that the current CCNA material is based around 1841 routers and 2960 switches, these are available from the usual sources (ebay etc) but will set you back a good chunk of cash, i am currently studying CCNA and using 2600 routers(x3) and 2950 switches(x3) which cover the vast majority of what you will require and at a fraction of the cost,

welcome to TE and good luck with the CCNA studies

Carl
    W.I.P CCNA Cyber Ops
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    control wrote: »
    Hi,

I have looked at the stickys regarding Hardware for a home lab during my CCNA study, and I see posts are years old. My question is, is the hardware still relevant for me sitting the exam next year, or what sort of equipment do I need to ensure I have the required hardware for passing the CCNA?

Thanks icon_smile.gif

I think Mike would say you need 3-4 routers, and 3 switches. That Said I have 3 1721s (max mem and 12.4 advanced,) 1 2610 (Frame relay switch but I don't use it that much) and 2 2950s (latest os). If I had a suggestion to make to you it would be either this:

3 3640s (with 1T wics and possible a FE port)
    1 2610 (or something to act as a FR switch)
    1 3550 (this will be my next purchase, along with some crypto cards for my 1721s)
    2 2950 or 60 (which ever you can afford)