Manager wants to fire me?

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
I'm a recent grad working on contract.

I'm very efficient and productive at everything I do and I get along with all coworkers. Recently, one of our coworkers resigned and it caused a slight impact. So, the manager told us that some of us will have to leave/stay in Jan (due to limited budget). He kept reminding ONLY me to look for a job and asking me to try harder for find a job when other coworkers hear our conversation. He probably thinks that this job isn't for me because he probably assumes that I will be the next person resigning...The thing is that I'm one of the best employee in the department and everyone knows that! I might be overqualified in some way too. He doesn't tell my coworkers to look for a job though.

I couldn't sleep properly for the entire week after my manager said that to me. He said it 3 times on different days for the past 2-3 weeks. This is getting me upset that he said it and my coworkers can hear everything from a small distance. I've been thinking about this situation every time I sit on a bus going home.

Is this a bad indication?

Comments

• abefromanabefroman Banned Posts: 278
    laptop wrote: »

I'm very efficient and productive at everything I do and I get along with all coworkers. Recently, one of our coworkers resigned and it caused a slight impact. So, the manager told us that some of us will have to leave/stay in Jan (due to limited budget). He kept reminding ONLY me to look for a job and asking me to try harder for find a job when other coworkers hear our conversation. He probably thinks that this job isn't for me because he probably assumes that I will be the next person resigning...The thing is that I'm one of the best employee in the department and everyone knows that! I might be overqualified in some way too. He doesn't tell my coworkers to look for a job though.