Options

Is it possible for my certifications/education to work against me?

Tony138Tony138 Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I’m currently trying to get into the IT business; I don’t have any professional experience, but I have a BS degree in CIS, A+ certification, Network+ certification, CCNA, MCDST, and MCSA.

Lately, I’ve been getting the feeling that companies that I interview for think that I’m just going to use them to gain experience and then move on to greener pastures. On the last interview that I went on, the hiring manager kept asking me multiple times about my future career plans, and when he asked me if I was satisfied with the salary that the position pays, and I said “yes” (I really was satisfied), it’s like he didn’t believe me and he then asked me, “are you satisfied with it just because you are unemployed right now?”

Could my certifications/education be working against me in obtaining an entry-level job, and if so, how do I convince potential employers that I’m not just going to leave after I get some experience?

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    You have a lot of good certifications, but not to the point of working against you, in my opinion.

You need to back them up with experience quickly...keep looking for jobs :)
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    It depends on your goals. Are you trying to become an exotic dancer? If so, you're doing it wrong...

I really don't think those certs put you out of the entry-level range. I could see people being wary about giving you a help desk-type job, but you'd be fine as a junior sys admin. You might want to look at larger companies where there will be room to grow and they won't have to worry about you leaving when you decide you want to take on more responsibilities.
  • Options
    apd123apd123 Member Posts: 171