newbie recommendations please

w^rl0rdw^rl0rd Member Posts: 329
Let me start by saying that I am a newbie when it comes
to Linux, but I'm finally willing to take the plunge.

I have decided to sell products online, and while I have a lot
of experience running Microsoft products, I just can't afford
the overhead right now. Also, many of the good shopping cart
programs run on Linux (no suprise there).

Before I start treading down the wrong path, learning things
that are a waste of time, I figured I'd tap into the expertise in
this forum.

What I'm asking for is this - Please recommend a version of Linux
for me to start learning and perhaps a good, basic shopping cart.
Also, any online tutorials are welcome. I learn a lot from step-by-step
instructions.

I think that completing this task could help bring me into the Linux
world and give me something new and exciting to learn.

Thanks,

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    w^rl0rd wrote: »
    Let me start by saying that I am a newbie when it comes
    to Linux, but I'm finally willing to take the plunge.

I have decided to sell products online, and while I have a lot
    of experience running Microsoft products, I just can't afford
    the overhead right now. Also, many of the good shopping cart
    programs run on Linux (no suprise there).

Before I start treading down the wrong path, learning things
    that are a waste of time, I figured I'd tap into the expertise in
    this forum.

What I'm asking for is this - Please recommend a version of Linux
    for me to start learning and perhaps a good, basic shopping cart.
    Also, any online tutorials are welcome. I learn a lot from step-by-step
    instructions.

I think that completing this task could help bring me into the Linux
    world and give me something new and exciting to learn.

Thanks,
    I think that if you want to stick your toe in to *nix, get a something like Ubuntu Desktop or Mint