Differences between Network+ and Server+

lespaulman74lespaulman74 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

Im an Network Admin and Im just now getting some certifications since my hours have been cut

Question is:
- what is the difference between the Network+ and Server+ exams. Which one is "higher"?

Im assuming the server+ exam is higher up, since its actually applied network principles.

Thx

Comments

• skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    They're different animals, in my opinion. I took Network+ last year, and I found it to be a larger volume of material than Server+ but not necessarily harder or easier by design. I don't think that Server+ is higher...if I had to pick, I'd say that Network+ is probably more difficult for a couple reasons - much wider array of topics and hence more things you have to know how to troubleshoot. I'd liken Server+ to A+.

(DISCLAIMER: do take all that with a grain of salt...I just took the Server+ beta exam so I have no idea how I did yet, and this is all just my opinion.)
    Currently Studying For: Nothing (cert-wise, anyway)
    Next Up: Security+, 291?

Enrolled in Masters program: CS 2011 expected completion
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What sort of work do you do? Those seem to be pretty low-level for someone with six years of experience. Also, the Server+ doesn't have a lot of recognition, so you might want to reconsider that one unless you have a specific need for it.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    skrpune wrote: »
    I'd liken Server+ to A+.

In looking at the exam guidelines for these, (I'm studying up for the Server+ beta at the moment,) I'd say that this is an accurate assessment. A+ and Server+ both focus on hardware and operating systems, in addition to networking concepts. While Server+ certainly goes deeper into networking, (being that it focuses on network operating systems and servers,) it doesn't begin to cover the same kind of material that Network+ does in that area.