LINUX+,or ICDN2 ?

md_rezkmd_rezk Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
dear members...

my background is electrical engineering specialized in Telecom (Masters). I have started to be interested in certifications close to my field, espicially tools and common things with my spec. I have passed ccent, my next step would be either CCNA 2nd exam or linux+, i am interested in linux as it is an important tool in Telecom. I do not know about linux, i have got ccent and quite familiar with networks and IP, do u advise to continue for ccna as it won't take long, what about linux+, how much could it take for one with no knowledge in unix-linux?

Comments

• RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    If you have already passed your ICND1, I would recommend finishing up with ICND2 and getting your CCNA while it is fresh on the brain.
    "Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I concur. Carry your momentum into ICND2. If you take a few months off without touching it, it will feel like starting over. I could have done ICND2 a couple of months after ICND1, but I put it off for a bit and didn't get around to it for over a year later. Just git'r done ;)
  • SephStormSephStorm Member Posts: 1,731 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Agreed. Cisco recommends that users wait the three years between CCENT and CCNA, but that is quite unrealistic.

Complete your CCNA and then you have three years to prepare for Linux+ :)
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I'm going to agree with the others and say finishing up your CCNA is the best option. After that, go for the Linux+.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • md_rezkmd_rezk Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thanks guys for your replies...