Options

Cheapest & Most Credible Certifications

phantom7phantom7 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am currently studying for my MSc in Computing. I was however wanting to do some short courses, or preferably online tests/exams. I was wanting to know what there is available more from the persepctive of people who have done such tests etc and gained certifications.

The problem I am having is that there are so many companies offering such cetifications that I am not sure where to begin. NCSA Academy for instance.

I want to do the SCJA a little later, saving up for it just now. Until then even simple Microsfot Office qualifications, or any other credible Java certifications or HTML etc. Anything really.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance! icon_wink.gif

Comments

• Options
    petedudepetedude Member Posts: 1,510
    That's a hard one to put together-- cheap and credible.

Closest I can think of is Security+. Have heard good things about it. Only one exam, probably not requiring too much in the way of study material (probably needing more time than materials).

Outside of that, take an MS exam to get an MCP or MCTS. Unfortunately, though, all an MCP/MCTS says is "starting point".
    Even if you're on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there.
    --Will Rogers
  • Options
    phantom7phantom7 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    thank you...
    will have a look at all 3 you mentioned now...

i know its difficult, credible and inexpensive, but worth a shot...

thanks for your help...

i look forward to some more suggestions from other members :)
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    phantom7 wrote: »
    Hi,

I am currently studying for my MSc in Computing. I was however wanting to do some short courses, or preferably online tests/exams. I was wanting to know what there is available more from the persepctive of people who have done such tests etc and gained certifications.