Need advice on my CCNA Home Lab plans

Corndork2Corndork2 Member Posts: 266
Hey to all out there. This is my first post on the forum. Currently I am scheduled to take the A+, and Network+ exams. I have also gone through the Cisco academy once in highschool. Id like to review and sharpen my skills for the CCNA and eventually the CCNP. I know the best way to practice and learn on your own is to make a home lab. I have laid out what I think will work to get me through the CCNA, and after I will add stuff for the CCNP. If you all wouldnt mind, would you look through this list and let me know what you think? Im a college student currently, so I am looking to do this with the absolute least expense, but I want to be sure I am able to try all aspects of the material on the CCNA. As such I will make sure to employ atleast one 100mbps router for vlan stuff, at least one router running 12.4 IOS, and at least one router that supports IPv6. I will also make sure to have at least one 2950 as I know there are questions directly related to them on the exam.

So far, this is what I think I need:

1x 3640 128/32mb 12.4 IOS - If I do run this what cards should I add to it? I have a NM-1E2W. Any other reccomendations?

2x 2501 - I like these as they are inexpensive. But do you guys think I need to spend the extra cash on the 16/16 models? The 8/8 are half the price. I know they dont support IPv6 on 8/8, but since I will be getting a 3640 which supports it do I need others?

1x 2950 Switch - Id like to add more than one, but I think I can only afford one.

?x 2924 Switch - If you guys think I need more than one switch, will the 2924's work for me? How many should I add?