Building cheapo VOICE/DATA home Cisco LAN (need advice)

fonestar1978fonestar1978 Banned Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
Merry Xmas all!

I am a tech and a CCENT but am just starting to play with the Cisco stuff again and I'm having fun with it so far. With this stuff for me, learning is doing. I don't know anyone who would study CCNA/CCNP never use it and then recall all IOS commands five years down the road so......

I am building a cheapo VOICE/DATA Cisco LAN. I use "PBX in a Flash" running on a prehistoric Pentium II headless server. I will only have two or three hard phones (using VoIP adapters) up to this.

I am purchasing a Cisco 2621XM and currently have two Catalyst 2950 switches. One FastEthernet port of the 2621XM will be for the DATA vlan going to one switch the other FastEthernet port will be going to the other 2950 dedicated for VOICE. Two separate networks, two interfaces, two vlans. The 2621XM will also have a NM-1FE facing WAN through a cable modem which goes through a signal amp/splitter.

I guess my main questions are:

I have been told ALL 26XX series only support NM-1E's and not NM-1FE's is this true? Even XM's?

Is the 2621XM going to be a good enough platform for VoIP? CPU? Memory?

Save for a 2651XM instead?

I am just learning to configure QoS on switches. How to prioritize on the 2621XM?

How to optimize bandwidth on the entire setup?

What are the best VoIP converters for regular telephones (I cannot afford Cisco IP phones)?

Do these dongles support frame tagging? Do I have to set the switchports being used for the phones as trunks?

Any good tutorials?

Thank-you for any advice. I'm hoping this will be educational, practical and hopefully under $1,000 when all is said and done.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I have been told ALL 26XX series only support NM-1E's and not NM-1FE's is this true? Even XM's?
    Right, they do not support the NM-1FE modules.