Straight to CCIE??

jsong1245jsong1245 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm currently looking for a new career. I'm a recent medically retired police officer. I do have some background in computers. I graduated college with a degree in computer science, so I do have a limited technical background. A friend of mine who has several Cisco Certifications (CCNP and CCSP, however no CCIE) recommended that I pursue a CCIE certification. He advised me to take the CCNA just to get the basic foundation and study straight for the CCIE R&S. He claimed that there was no need to take the CCNP. He told me one of his friends studied for the CCIE for about 18 months and passed it without taking the CCNP. His friend was in the entertainment industry and had no background in networking.

I personally wanted to take the CCNA - CCNP - CCIE R&S route, but my friend kept insisting there was no need. He basically said the intermediate stuff alone will not help me pass the CCIE Lab portion.

I know this topic was brought up back in 2006, but I would like to hear some new feedback if anybody in this forum (or knows someone) attained a CCIE without passing the intermediate certifications so I can make an informed decision about my career.

Thanks.

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    jsong1245 wrote: »