Taking A+ Core (and hopefully OS) on June 20th 2003

Joyous MonkeyJoyous Monkey Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, All.
First, I'd like to say I'm seriously impressed with this site.

I've been working in a computer call-centre for about 8 months now, and the company is paying for us to take the A+ as part of our career progression. A requisite of this is that we pass a pre-test designed by the company. This pre-test is apparently designed to be much tougher than the real thing.. there were 150 non-adaptive questions on core and OS. What concerns me is that this pre-test is designed around the Sybex 2001 study guide. From reading the posts in this forum I have formed the impression that the real thing contains questions on subjects not found in this book AND many others. I'm quite happy to study any subject matter to pass the core & OS, but if I don't know of this subject matter's existence it is a little difficult icon_eek.gif

I've also studied the Exam Cram and done some online tests ( some of which give conflicting answers within the same site ! ). What I'd like to ask is:

How much emphasis should I place on Win3.x and WinNT ?
Is it worth going beyond the basics of RAID?
Is there a suitably sympathetic and powerful god/dess or patron saint of people taking IT exams?

Thanks in advance,
Joyous Monkey
Me sursum transmitte, Caledonii !

Comments

• bellboybellboy Member Posts: 1,017
    welcome to the forum.

the objectives introduced in 2001 and 2003 do not cover win3.x, but you are required to know about expanded and extended memory.

the objectives introduced this year introduce the likes of windows xp, but candidates are allowed to take exams in either the 2001 or 2003 objectives to become a+ certified, so your book is still valid. it is thought the objectives introduced this year will begin testing from sometime after september on.

as far as raid goes, you will just be required to tell the differences between the versions supported by windows.